Recreational Reader

I am living the dream.

I live at the seaside, I have a job that I am really enjoying, and I have the time to read…FOR FUN! No text books in sight. It’s all fiction these days.

I’ve read three books in as many weeks.

Well…

…two and a half, because one was a super long book that I started reading in May and only recently had the time to finish…

Most recently, I read Filth by Irvine Welsh.

What a fine piece of literature.

I honestly could not put it down. (Except when I had to go to work – didn’t quite manage to read the whole thing over a weekend). And when I wasn’t reading it, I was certainly thinking about it. There are a lot of great books out there, but not all of them get into your head. This one sucked me in, and I couldn’t let go until I’d finished. Even then, I’m still in complete awe.

If you like gnarly, gritty, abrupt fiction then you need to read this book.
If you’ve seen the film already – still read the book!

Normally I like to read a book before I see the film, but in this case, I had seen the film prior to realising there was a book. It didn’t matter all too much. I think the film is excellent anyway. But it is nothing compared to its original form.

Read this book. Seriously. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

