New Beginnings

It’s been a while.

In my absence, I have spent a lot of time just enjoying summer. Making the most of my family and friends before my big move to the seaside. I really have had the best few weeks. Moving back home to live with my parents was tough at first, but I have come so far in such a short space of time that the fact it sucked at first seems like such a minor detail now. Looking back, it was worth it. It gave me the motivation to do what I needed to do to change things.

And now…my new beginning has officially begun. I have moved to the seaside, and I am loving life. In terms of location, I’m really quite far away from my hometown. I don’t know anyone, and I don’t know a lot about the area. Weirdly enough, I quite like it this way. I am a free agent (work permitting), and I can get out and do things on my own steam. I can’t wait to get properly stuck in.

Of course, I have friends from university who live geographically nearer to me now that I’ve moved. Some are still studying so I won’t be able to see them often, but at least I know that it will be easier to visit them in the holidays now.

I’m really looking forward to starting my new job too. So far, the people that I’ve met have been really accommodating and helpful. I have the typical nervous apprehension that one would associate with new surroundings. But so far, I have not been reduced to a crumbling ball of intensified anxiety. I am completely chilled out.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the last 10-11 weeks, it’s these three things:

1. It’s okay to live in the now. (Actually, it’s quite fun!)
2. Life really isn’t scary at all.
3. When you surround yourself with good people, feeling good is infectious.

4 thoughts on “New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

